Miss Aggie2

Agnes Grace Jones, “Miss Aggie” as she was affectionately known, was the daughter of Edith and Walter Jones. She was a resident of Mandarin from 1898 until her death in 1992 at the age of 94. Miss Aggie was an independent, strong-willed, confident woman who possessed a deep sense of community and a charitable heart. Part entrepreneur, part community activist and part social worker, she had the business acumen to run a successful grocery, the organizational skills to become Mandarin’s Postmistress and a reputation for helping her fellow man in time of need. She was the last of her family to live in the Webb/Jones farmhouse which is located in the Walter Jones Historical Park.

“Miss Aggie” Day is celebrated and an award is given annually to a resident who has contributed to the Mandarin community in the areas of business, civic, educational or charitable accomplishment. The candidate’s contributions may be specific deeds or an accumulation of actions over a period of time. Recipients need not be “experts” in any particular area but might be known or recognized for their sense of community, their caring attitude or individual accomplishments.

2024 RECIPIENTS: Olis and Jo Garber

Olis and Jo are longtime Mandarin residents and owners of Olis Garber Photography. Their love for their community is evident in their friendly and neighborly spirits, and their selfless giving of time and professional skills.

In 2021, Olis documented the last remaining 19th and early 20th-century structures in Mandarin. The images appeared in the Museum’s Images of America: Mandarin book, with select images also appearing in Wayne Wood’s Jacksonville’s Architectural Heritage Bicentennial Edition.

Past Miss Aggie Award Recipients

🍊 2023: SUSAN FORd

🍊 2022: Yvonne Monroe

🍊 2021: Orren “Bo” Philips

🍊 2020: Sam Folds and Wanda Bosworth

🍊 2019: Lynn Cuda

🍊 2018: Don Bowden

🍊 2017: Susie Scott

🍊 2016: Sarah Bailey

🍊 2015: Sandy Arpen

🍊 2014: Linda Levin

🍊 2013: Emily Lisska

🍊 2012: Virginia Barker

🍊 2011: Elizabeth “Betty” Wolfe

🍊 2010: Alice Stanley

🍊 2009: Susan Earnhart

🍊 2008: Jane Cooksey

🍊 2007: Mary Kaminski and Bonnie McNulty

🍊 2006: Mary Ann Southwell

🍊 2005: Rhonda Reese

🍊 2004: Karen Roumillat

🍊 2003: Kate Monson